Skip to content

NTU Interview

April 24, 2008

I will go straight to the point: the following is the detail of my Nanyang/ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship Interview on 23 April, 2008 at Student Service Center, Nanyang Technological University. Minor details maybe inaccurate due to constraint of my memory capacity 😛

The interview (or should I say interrogation?) was conducted by three interviewers, in a large meeting room that made me feel like a criminal facing the judges.

<BEGIN>

Me : Good afternoon madam. (Tried to appear confident)

Interviewers : Good afternoon. What is your preference, ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship or Nanyang Scholarship?

Me : ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship.

Interviewers : Do you know their differences? Have you look through their objectives?

Me : The source for AUS is Singapore MOE, whereas for NS it is the campus itself. I apologize for not being able to tell their objectives.

Interviewers : Since you know the sources of the scholarship, can you tell us what do we expect from the scholars?

Me : (…after some cliche…)…the scholars are expected to become the human capital for Singapore Government.

Interviewers : So you are interested in becoming part of the Singapore human capital?

Me : I will go wherever I can acquire knowledge. (What am I talking about?)

Interviewers : What is your first choice? And why?

Me : Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. blah blah blah…(True reason : Because it is the hardest to get into? I wish to slap myself for my thoughtlessness when I chose my first choice…)

Interviewers : But your subsequent choices are unrelated to chemistry and biology?

Me : (Stunned for a while) I am interested in all three science subjects but I am more inclined toward Physics than Biology. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering enables me to study all three discipline of science….(messed up and completely unrelated to the question)

Interviewers : So you will be equally happy if we give you the other choices?

Me : Yes.

Interviewers : Why didn’t you study Biology in STPM?

Me : I would like to , but our school policy restraint me from doing so.

Interviewers : From your essay you seems passionate in teaching. Are you interested in becoming a lecturer in the future?

Me : Yes, etc. etc. etc.

Interviewers : You aren’t interested in SME?

Me : Yes. (Still in an unprepared state, forgot the meaning of SME out of sudden)

Interviewers : Why?

Me : (Too late when I realised what I have answered) Erm…I am inclined to join a profession that will enable me to contribute something to the society….etc etc

Interviewers : You are implying that SME aren’t making contribution to the society?

Me : (My mind went blank due to my previous imprudent reply) Well, Government sector is more related to the society…etc (Confidence shattered)

Interviewers : From the application form that you submitted, you got merit in etc etc but JUST a PASS for Grade 7 ABRSM exam?

Me : I learn music for fun, not for grade. I admit I don’t have enough talent for music.

Interviewers : What is your father business about?

Me : etc etc etc

Interviewers : What subject does your mother teach?

Me : Chinese.

Interviewers : Thank you, you may leave now. Any further question you wish to ask?

Me : No. (Feeling a little disheartened)

<END>

Mediocre/Below average performance I guess. It looks a little better in my post as it is written, not spoken.

For Howard : Howard, I have prepared to follow your foot step, apply a loan and be your junior…. T_T

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2008 3:31 am

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey

  2. Angie permalink
    April 28, 2008 4:43 am

    Guess ur questions were tough.. my perfomance was also average as well.. good luck to both of us.. we put the same course for our first choice.. haha

  3. April 29, 2008 12:06 am

    Angie? Are you someone I know?

  4. Angie permalink
    April 29, 2008 1:39 am

    Hmm.. guess you dont know me.. Hehe..=)

  5. krishna permalink
    November 18, 2010 1:57 am

    thanks !
    it was pretty informative. 🙂

Leave a Reply

